Subject: RT: U.S. includes ET in aid program

U.S. chooses seven countries for aid program 01 Oct 2004 00:00:51 GMT

Source: Reuters

WASHINGTON, Sept 30 (Reuters) - The United States on Thursday listed seven countries as eligible for assistance under the Millennium Challenge program, which provides cash in exchange for economic and democratic reforms.

Albania, East Timor, Kenya, Sao Tome, Tanzania, Uganda and Yemen were chosen for participation in the so-called Threshold Program. The designation means the countries have shown a commitment to reforms and are eligible for some aid under the Millennium Challenge program, which the administration announced in 2002.

The countries are also in line to be looked at for a select program under Millennium Challenge that would give them even more generous aid.

The Bush administration has promised to add up to $5 billion a year in aid through the program by 2006.

Support ETAN, make a secure financial contribution at

Back to October menu
World Leaders Contact List
Human Rights Violations in East Timor
Main Postings Menu