Subject: MI: Election results for four seats in East Timor
Date: Sat, 17 Jul 1999 09:17:06 -0400
From: "John M. Miller" <>

Election results for four seats in East Timor

07/12/1999 Media Indonesia', Jakarta, in Indonesian 12 Jul 99

Unlike previous years, in the 1999 elections East Timor 's quota of People's Representative Council (DPR) seats is only four. From its integration with Indonesia until 1997, East Timor 's quota was 13 DPR seats, equivalent to the number of districts in the province...

The five largest political parties received the following number of votes in East Timor : the Megawati-led Indonesian Democratic Party-Struggle (PDI-P) 119,908, the United Development Party (PPP) 2,211, the National Mandate Party (PAN), 9,618, Golkar 168,592 and the National Awakening Party (PKB) 629...

So, who will represent the East Timorese people at Senayan? Golkar's two DPR seats will be filled by Setya Novanto and Natercia Soares, and the PDI-P's two seats RBS Hutagaol and Dr Rekso Herman...

Back to July Menu
Human Rights Violations in East Timor
Main Postings Menu
June '98 through February '99