etmnlong.gif (2291 bytes) spacer


Portuguese Translation

U.S. Representatives urge fully-integrated Timor mission

Congress of the United States
Washington, DC

October 24, 2006
The Honorable Condoleezza Rice
U.S. Department of State
2201 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20520
Dear Madame Secretary:
As you know, the United Nations recently expanded its mission in Timor-Leste substantially. As long-time supporters of the new nation, we hope that the new United Nations Integrated Mission in Timor-Leste  (UNMIT) will be as effective as possible in helping Timor-Leste restore security and continue on the path toward peaceful democracy which has been interrupted by recent violence.
In August, disagreements within the U.N. Security Council caused it to defer a decision on whether the international military component, now led by Australia, should be fully integrated into the UN mission or remain under separate command. A final decision on the military command structure will be made after the Secretary-General reports on the issue by October 25.
We commend the Australian government for the speed in which they responded to Timor-Leste?s request for help in May 2006.  However, we have concerns that a force under separate command will not only make coordination difficult, but that it will reduce the confidence and security that the people of Timor-Leste need from UNMIT at this difficult time.  The U.N. Secretary-General has expressed support for a fully-integrated mission as well.  Including all military components within UNMIT would also be consistent with previous UN missions in Timor-Leste. In 1999, when the Australian-led InterFET deployment helped to end post-referendum violence, it was integrated into the UNTAET peacekeeping force within a few months.
When the Security Council considers the issue again, we respectfully urge that the United States support a well-integrated and effective U.N. mission in Timor-Leste, with all international soldiers under U.N. command.  We thank you for your consideration of this matter and look forward to your response.

Patrick J. Kennedy
Nita M. Lowey
George Miller
James P. Moran
Sam Farr
James P. McGovern
Steven R. Rothman
Donald M. Payne
Robert Wexler
James R. Langevin
Tammy Baldwin
Jim McDermott
James L. Oberstar
Ellen O. Tauscher
Joseph Crowley
Lane Evans
Allyson Y. Schwarz
Raul M. Grijalva
Jane D. Schakowsky
Earl Blumenauer
Edolphus Towns

Letter to Secretary of State Rice PDF

see also

Congressional Action pages




Support ETAN. Donate today!

Become an ETAN Sustainer, make a pledge via credit card here

Bookmark and Share

Background | Take Action | News | Links | What You Can Do | Resources  | Contact

ETAN Store | Estafeta | ImagesHome | Timor Postings | Search | Site Index |

Follow ETAN:

Like ETAN on Facebook Follow ETAN on Twitter ETAN on Google+ ETAN email listservs ETAN blog ETAN on LinkedIn ETAN on Pinterest Donate to ETAN!