Subject: National AIDS Commission in East Timor


Today Dr. Rui Maria Araujo, the Minister for Health in East Timor inagurated the new 18 member National AIDS Commission (Commissao Nacional de Luta Contra SIDA) (CNCLS).

The committee members elected Dr. Avelino Guterres Correia (Universidade de Dili) as the Chair person of the commission and Madre Idalia Tavares (Caritas Dili) as the Vice President of the Commission.

On september 15th 2003 Dr. Mari Alkatiri, the Prime minister of Republica Democratica de Timor Lest, through a Prime Ministers order Constituted the 18 member National AIDS commission (CNLS). (Despatch no 13/2003/PM)

Log on to the following url for the photo of the members of the council with the Minister for Health Dr. Rui Araujo, Mr. Luis Lobato, the Vice Minister for Health and M. Feliciano Pinto, the Director General of Health Services.


Back to October menu

World Leaders Contact List
Human Rights Violations in East Timor
Main Postings Menu