etmnlong.gif (2291 bytes) spacer


ETAN is "A voice of reason, criticizing the administration's reluctance to address ongoing human rights violations and escalating oppression in West Papua and against religious minorities throughout Indonesia."  - Noam Chomsky

Donate Today

ETAN Receives Highest Honor from Timor- Leste

President TMR pPresents medals at Presidential Palace.  
Awards ceremony at Presidential Palace.  
On May 21, ETAN received the Order of Timor-Leste (Ordem de Timor-Leste), the highest award that the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste bestows. Recently-inaugurated President Taur Matan Ruak presented the award to ETAN for our contribution to the liberation of the country. The award was accepted by ETAN National Coordinator John M. Miller. The award's ceremony took place at the Presidential Palace a day after the 10th anniversary of the restoration of the country's independence. Present at the awards ceremony were former President Jose Ramos-Horta, President of Parliament Fernando "Lasama" de Araujo, Vice Prime Minister Jose Luis Guterres - all three have spoken at ETAN events over the years - as well as members of the government, friends and relatives of the awardees and diplomats, including U.S. Ambassador to Timor-Leste Judith Fergin who offered her congratulations.

ETAN co-founder and former National Coordinator Charles Scheiner also received the award. An additional 15 individuals and organizations were also honored on May 21.  

This award belongs to all who participated in ETAN's campaign to challenge and change U.S. policy to support for Timor's self-determination.

Other recipients of the Order of Timor-Leste on May 21 were Ambassador Antonio Monteiro, Prof. Antonio Pinto Barbedo de Magalhaes of Oporto University, Dr. Rui Marques, who organized the Lusitania Expresso in March 1992, and RTP (Portuguese Radio and Television).

The Dom Martinho Lopes medal, which goes to members of religious orders, was award to Bishop Hilton Forrest Deakin of Australia, Father Joao de Deus, Father Jose Lopes Batista, and Father Jose Martins. Father Domingos Morato da Cunha and Father Reinaldo Cardoso, priests based in Rhode Island, also received the medal.

Those receiving the Medal of Merit included Father Jose Lopes Batista from Peace and Justice for East Timor Association, the principal of Coimbra University, Portugal, Alfredo Manuel Pires, and Louise Byrne.

In his speech, the President thanked the medal recipients for their support to Timor-Leste's struggle for independence.

John M. iller, President Taur Matan Ruak and Charles Scheiner at awards cermony From left:  Father Reinaldo Cardoso, Father Domingos Morato da Cunha, and John M. Miller, and Charles Scheiner Headline and picture in in local newspaper. All photos by ETAN.
John M. Miller, President Taur Matan Ruak and Charles Scheiner. From left:  Father Domingos Morato da Cunha, Father Reinaldo Cardoso,  John M. Miller, and Charles Scheiner. Headline and picture in in local newspaper. All photos by ETAN.



Read Noam Chomsky on ETAN's 20th Anniversary

Please support ETAN!

 Please give generously in this anniversary year. In doing so, you can help strengthen ETAN to meet the challenges of the coming years.

Donate Today

see also

ETAN at 20: Reflections and Reminiscences


ETAN Cause on Facebook
ETAN Group on Facebook

ETAN Blog ETAN's Blog

ETAN listservs

Subscribe to ETAN's e-mail Listservs



Support ETAN. Donate today!

Become an ETAN Sustainer, make a pledge via credit card here

Bookmark and Share

Background | Take Action | News | Links | What You Can Do | Resources  | Contact

ETAN Store | Estafeta | ImagesHome | Timor Postings | Search | Site Index |

Follow ETAN:

Like ETAN on Facebook Follow ETAN on Twitter ETAN on Google+ ETAN email listservs ETAN blog ETAN on LinkedIn ETAN on Pinterest Donate to ETAN!